Top reviews of the 261 Chrysler minivans (2023)

A link led you to this review. Your location on this site may change on your next visit.

page 3Ratings 40 - 70

Top reviews of the 261 Chrysler minivans (1)

Stephanie de Summerville, SCCertified appraiser

Original review: December 16, 2016

While driving the vehicle, always under 40 mph, the traction control light comes on, I lose power steering, the engine dies, all lights and the radio are off. So far I've managed to get it to idle and restart. This morning I hit the curb while going around the roundabout and taking my kids to school. It's been like this for over a year. It doesn't matter if it's cold or hot, rainy or sunny. He will go a month without anything and in one day he will die 6 times.

We've been to private mechanics. We went to two different Chrysler dealerships and they checked the erg valve and key fob, ignition switch, checked the battery, drained all the electrical stuff, had it for 2 days last week and couldn't figure it out. Has died from me 4 times this week. I have four kids and I'm always in the van and now I'm scared to drive! We checked the vin and there is no recall as we already did the vent window. But the recalls listed describe exactly what's going on. So Chrysler knows it and doesn't care! You cannot simply recall certain lots when there are clearly other vehicles with the same problem.

What is Chrysler willing to do for a family when they are seriously injured in an accident overhead their van! I can't exchange it. I don't have money to pay for the damage that consumers are supposed to do with these vans. We are the original owners of the 2010 T&C, I love this van but it scares the hell out of me! I just want it fixed! I mean, I love roller coasters too, but if one keeps going off the rails, I'm not sure I'd ride it or bet my family on it. Please Chrysler fix these cars!

38 peoplefound this review helpful

Top reviews of the 261 Chrysler minivans (2)

Tom de Blackstone, MA

Original review: October 7, 2016

Traded in a Honda Odyssey for a 2013 Chrysler Town & Country. Big mistake. Transmission knocks when shifting from reverse to drive. Not always, but when you sit down. It's metal on metal. It looks like the electrical sensor is delaying the action. Chrysler looked at it and claimed there were no problems, but told me it can keep making that noise. He also jumped into idle twice this week and didn't want to go back. Chrysler sees no problem. Maybe they're not looking hard enough. A jump actually did damage by moving the bumper against a brick wall. That doesn't seem certain.

America bailed out a bankrupt company with money from hard-working citizens because they couldn't make a good product and couldn't compete in the market, so they kept making unreliable cars. Shameful. I bought an American car to support American manufacturing. I learned a lesson the hard way. My wife doesn't want to drive at all. I don't blame her. I've been driving for over 45 years and have owned so many cars and this is the worst. Do yourself a favor, don't buy this Chrysler. Many Thanks.

27 peoplefound this review helpful

Top reviews of the 261 Chrysler minivans (3)

Christopher from San Jose, CACertified appraiser

Original review: June 24, 2016

My family has always been a Ford family. My grandfather had a good friend who built a house on our golf course years ago and he owned a Chrysler at the time. He always told me when I was done with the Ford, try Chrysler... When our son was born in 2009, after we brought him home, we traded our 1999 Ford SVT Lightning for a 2009 Journey. Enough and we traded it for a 2009 T/C Van We traded our 2009 vehicle for a 2011 Town & Country Van at Normandin Chrysler Jeep, 900 Capitol Expressway Auto Mall, San Jose, CA 95136, (408) 266-9500. After more than a year with it (purchase 10/2014) there were problems starting the vehicle.

Interestingly, during the arduous exercise of buying a car, the finance manager made one of the most provocative statements about buying an extended warranty. In fact, he stated that the difference between our 2009 and 2011 product was over 1,100 new circuit designs and that the failure modes of these products were not fully known. Therefore, due to the compelling nature of your concern, we purchased the enhanced plan for us. WE had never done this before.

The first incident started when my son and I went to a park (in July 2011) and when I tried to push the vehicle (which does not involve putting a key in the pillar but a bunch of keys that must be near the vehicle) starts the vehicle does not. Then you should depress the brake pedal and press the start button, the vehicle should start. But not. This is the first of several cases where the vehicle will not start. We later went back to try to start the van, there was never any indication of a power problem. Full electronic activity was evident, just no cranking at the starter, nothing.

This incident at the dealership, we are told, was a battery incident. This was a car that was less than 4 years old. I told the dealer that our #0093 SRT8 Super Bee was twice as old and had the original battery. I told them that as an engineer I had measured the battery voltage, I knew all the power connections were working and that their placement looked wrong. Her comment was that the "computer" displayed "low voltage alarm". I then paid $279 for a $100 battery since the battery is not warranty service.

Over the next few months, my family went through the same: 1) Software upgrade - they couldn't explain the connection. I questioned them a lot about it... 2) Illegal Key - New keyring and encryption. 3) WIN - Wireless Ignition Module. 4) Take the van to the dealership for an extended test drive simulation so they can experience it like we did with this van. Rental car included. The non-payment of our $100 deductible was settled two repairs ago because nothing was repaired... They agreed, so. They should "install" a co-pilot computer to further improve their ability to diagnose code errors.

During that time, we were mocked for knowing how to step on the brake pedal. Serious? And during that time, the van was towed through AAA to the dealer, DOA, every time. And when they tested it in front of me and my wife, it was DOA. NO doubt here that there is a problem. I got to the point where I said to my advisor and two meetings with the Director of Service that I understand that sporadic issues are difficult to solve because as a technology professional who has been solving complex problems for years, that's problematic.

Recently, in June 2016, we left the car for 10 days again. The deal was they would put in a “passenger” and drive the car like us and continue troubleshooting. Five days later I found out they just left the van and did a flyby during the day and off we went. I explained the 8D problem solving technique to them. So if you change the sample event while testing a specific issue, it may break the integrity of your assessment. I was told they need permission for this? I told them it was granted when I got out of the car last week...

It was at this point that I requested access to a Chrysler social worker and sought an objective, sane approach to 11 months of chaos. My wife wasted time at work. Our son is late for school. We've been stranded many times. We got a call from AAA complaining that we should have our car fixed... We've been with AAA CA for almost 40 years. Imagine being snubbed by AAA for a bad car?

I received a message to pick up my car on Friday 10th June. He said he couldn't "find a problem and come and get your car". When I picked it up on the morning of the 11th they had driven 38 miles in the 10 days. They knew my wife drove 45 miles a day in Silicon Valley traffic jams, but they didn't honor our agreement to "treat" the van like a family car.

I have filed and opened my own case with Chrysler. My social worker was very helpful at first. I gave her all the information and the comment that we realized it wasn't the dealer's problem, that it wasn't the brand's problem, per SE... But yes, maybe an anomaly on this van. I felt good about our first dialogue. That has changed.

Today 23rd June 2016 I received a call from my clerk and her disposition to me from the Dealership Service Director was that they will not unless we pay the previous costs of their inability to resolve our issue, plus the cost of the car rental Stop repairing the van at this dealer. IMPRESSIVE! ~$3,000! Do you give them the privilege of trying to fix this problem for the sixth time? Even if we paid they would charge us for the entire "diagnostic time" to fix the problem, again WOW! We all know that interpretation would basically mean that this dealership would prefer never to see us again... Any questions? I went online to this site and found an extraordinary conviction for this problem situation for everyone.

Of course, I have presented the aspect of culpable responsibility and, based on this, negligence as an example. This is a similar event to the VW smog software. Whether it is known beforehand, known after the fact, or we ignore and defend it. This is Corporate Global Economics 101. We are, but they cannot prove it because they are sheep feeding on our trough. I know, participate and hope that the Normandin estate, which is entirely a tool to force the will of corporations down the throats of "real" people, is humane. I hope this can be resolved for many people and no one suffers an unfortunate event.

52 peoplefound this review helpful

Top reviews of the 261 Chrysler minivans (4)

Melissa do Cairo, OHCertified appraiser

Original review: January 28, 2016

I went into the garage after driving home from work and flames erupted from under the driver's door and the long passenger door. So I ran inside to call 911 that my van was on fire in the driveway. When the fire department arrived, my house was on fire. Complete and total loss of my entire home. Chrysler was happy to take my money for the cost of the minivan I bought. Then they should return the favor and replace all my belongings and the house since their car was out of order. Like "an eye for an eye". I need to get a lawyer and fight this. Ridiculous.

38 peoplefound this review helpful

Top reviews of the 261 Chrysler minivans (5)

George de Parkville, MOCertified appraiser

Original review: January 10, 2016

I bought the minivan in October 2015. The van was parked in my driveway and I noticed oil on the floor under the van. I called the dealer on January 4th to have the van serviced and to schedule an appointment for the oil leak. I was told I could just take the van for an oil change and then report the oil leak to them. I took the van to Gladstone Dodge where I bought the van and the first thing I was asked was "Did you buy the van new?" So they took the van to check. About half an hour later, the service representative came in and said, "Yes, you have an oil leak, we're not sure where, but we'll get you a rental car for free."

I got a Dodge minivan that wasn't nearly as good as my van. It's Sunday and I haven't heard from the dealer yet. I've owned 2 Dodge Rams with Hemi's and never had any problems. I think I should have bought it again. I hate the idea that the van has only 7,000 miles on it and it's already in trouble. You must replace and repair the vehicle. I'm pretty sure the Gladstone Dodge won't do anything, and I'm even more sure the Dahmer Chrysler or Fiat/Chrysler won't do anything either. Attention buyers!

32 peoplefound this review helpful

Top reviews of the 261 Chrysler minivans (6)

Nick von Eden Prairie, Minnesota

Original review: January 9, 2016

In 2008, my dad bought a $15,000 base model Town & Country directly from a Chrysler dealer (who obviously had problems). During the time he owned the car, he was faced with three relevant ignition module recalls. The first call back didn't do anything. The second call did nothing. On the third recall, we were on a road trip and were in Canada when we suddenly lost all power in the car. We had to wait hours for road service to arrive and when they arrived they informed us that it would cost a few thousand dollars to tow us across the border back to the US. Luckily this guy seemed to know what he was doing and did a few things on the electronics that reset the car. After several attempts the car started and he informed us that it would be a serious mistake to turn it off if we were trying to return home.

Of course we tried to get home as we all had work to do but before that we contacted a Chrysler dealer and they informed us that they could not fix the part as there was an 18 week waiting list for it. So we drove home almost empty before we could finally park the car. We contacted our local dealer and he said he would notify us when the recalled part arrived. It's been more than 5 months and they haven't contacted us. Remember that for the last two recalls they charged us for the part even though it was a mandatory recall. So this dealer is clearly dishonest with us and we are stuck in a death trap vehicle along with shoddy interior materials and faulty electronics. Also, this car is already starting to rust on the front fenders! This is unacceptable for a car this new! We look forward to never having to buy another Chrysler product or deal with one of its representatives again.

24 peoplefound this review helpful

(Video) The 2021 Chrysler Pacifica Pinnacle Is a Luxury Minivan for $50,000

Top reviews of the 261 Chrysler minivans (7)

Thomas de Everett, WashingtonCertified appraiser

Original review: December 20, 2015

I went back to the dealer after 200 miles in a 2015 3.6 Town Country minivan and said I'm only getting 10.6-12 miles per gallon around town on all 17 highways and cities. They said what I was told and what the sticker says is for perfect road conditions (downhill maybe). I should get 17mpg City. They're full of lies, lies. The last thing I buy...

19 peoplefound this review helpful

Top reviews of the 261 Chrysler minivans (8)

Tim de Hamilton, New JerseyCertified appraiser

Original review: September 30, 2015

In July 2012 I bought a certified Chrysler Town and Country Touring. Shortly thereafter, I had trouble getting started. Sometimes it starts right away, sometimes it takes 10-30 minutes. Since then, the store has been in and out. I haven't owned the van for over 3 months since buying it. He had 2 starters installed, a crankshaft and a sensor. None of this worked. I'm driving or towing and get a call saying it's fixed and the same thing happens again. Then they told me I needed a tip that didn't exist. He said Chrysler didn't make the necessary part.

I drove for a while until I got tired of not knowing if I was going to get stuck or not. Sometimes it starts and sometimes it doesn't. I was towed away on 06/06/2015 and called for pickup on 09/25/2015. I picked it up and 3 hours later it did the same. They had the van for months and couldn't fix it. I now deal directly with Chrysler and they have been of great help with the rental and communication with the dealer. The service manager now wants me to bring it back to install a tipm but won't give me a lease. It's not my fault they sold me a car they can't fix. I bought a certified car for a reason.

12 peoplefound this review helpful

Top reviews of the 261 Chrysler minivans (9)

Brad from Baroda, MICertified appraiser

Original review: September 23, 2015

Our 2009 Town & Country Van has been trouble free and ran great like every other Chrysler product we have owned over the years. In June I took the vehicle for an ignition system recall. It appears from the Internet that the same scenario happened to several owners of cities and countries in 2008-2010 immediately after ignition recall repairs. Our vehicle immediately began showing strange displays of sensor feedback on the dash. As we attempted to drive home carefully, the gas warning light came on and the vehicle immediately went from freeway speed to 20 mph. Restarting the vehicle could only get us a short distance.

The vehicle has been at a Certified Chrysler Dealer (Greenville, MI) for repair for over six weeks! I asked Chrysler customer service to contact them but they didn't. From the number of identical incidents across the country with urban and rural from 2008 to 2010, it appears that the ignition recall repair procedure is the cause of the throttle controller malfunction. To date, my written and verbal communications to Auburn Hills have been without any response or acknowledgment of responsibility. I've never been treated like this by Chrysler.

28 peoplefound this review helpful

Top reviews of the 261 Chrysler minivans (10)

Top reviews of the 261 Chrysler minivans (11)

Melissa de Wyoming, MICertified appraiser

Original review: September 13, 2015

We bought our town and country minivan brand new from a dealer in August 2014. Loved the looks and the options - should have known. Paint parts on the hood and bumper on the first day. Had to have it repaired. Dents in the seats. It had fixed. In the first week he was told to use E85 flexible fuel for the journey. I tried it once and had engine problems as the dealers said flex fuel ruins engines - imagine if it says on the car it is flex fuel legal. The engine runs so poorly that it jerks. The starter stalls and turns randomly 6-8 times and doesn't seem to start. The power steering had to have the bearing changed after 3 months, the brakes slip when stopping and the automatic door opener happens to not work. Had it in store 10 times. They fixed the power steering, but nothing else.

I've gone through 6 customer service escalation reps since December 2014. You say, "Well, the computer says there's nothing wrong," but nothing has been fixed and all the problems are still there. Now they want me to reset another claim number with another customer service representative. Chrysler is not part of (and will not deal with) the BBB. They won't deal with ConsumerAffairs, they don't solve Lemon Law issues, they also said if my rotors needed replacing after I've had the car for 4 months I would have to pay for any repairs to them. They don't even guarantee new vehicle brake parts if they are faulty. So far Chrysler is a nightmare, service is terrible and customer service is even worse. My opinion, never buy a Chrysler.

34 peoplefound this review helpful

Top reviews of the 261 Chrysler minivans (12)

Ronald de Dover Plains, New YorkCertified appraiser

Original review: August 14, 2015

Urban and Country Blind Spot Modules - Both modules simultaneously traveled approximately 55,000 miles. This problem is not new as several complaints have been made here about how to fix it. Chrysler wants to charge me 2000 plus taxes and the head office said they would pay half but their numbers and mine don't match and on a website where I found the complaints the average cost was 1777. It's all a mess and I feel that Chrysler is to blame.

18 peoplefound this review helpful

Top reviews of the 261 Chrysler minivans (13)

Lady of Lake Wylie, SCCertified appraiser

(Video) 2021 Chrysler Pacifica | Review & Road Test

Original review: August 11, 2015

2005 Chrysler Minivan - 26 states had a passenger airbag or sensor recall but excluded SC. Passenger window motor stalled, repair $350. 2. Mechanics cannot resolve "pooing" noise when throttle is depressed. Tires, brakes, new handlebars and aligned and still stepping on the gas pedal causes a constant "fart" every 20 to 60 seconds and NO ONE HAS ANY IDEA what that is.

18 peoplefound this review helpful

Top reviews of the 261 Chrysler minivans (14)

Danielle de Chagrin Falls, OHCertified appraiserVerified buyer

Original review: August 6, 2015

I bought a Chrysler Town and Country in spring 2015. On August 4, 2015 the Town and Country stalled in the middle of a busy road and I had to shut it down and restart it. When I hit the gas pedal it started rolling backwards. I had to haul it to the dealer. Two weeks earlier a light came on on the dash and it was fixed and I was told it was an electronics issue, most likely because my gas cap wasn't tight enough. The car was returned to me and an hour after I drove it from the dealership the lights came back on and the transmission failed in the middle of the road. Luckily I avoided two serious car accidents. The dealer said he had transmission problems. It is currently at the dealer and I am fighting Chrysler to get out of my lease. I have filed a lawsuit and have a case number. Currently waiting to speak to a case manager. I will never drive this car again! Chrysler is putting lives at risk if they don't recall these vehicles!

33 peoplefound this review helpful

Top reviews of the 261 Chrysler minivans (15)

Victor aus Adelanto, Kalifornien

Original review: August 2, 2015

TPMS, SRS, downshift stuttering. I was irritated by this beeping sound while driving and frustrated taking it to the dealer to have this fixed but they want me to pay $125.00 for it. It's ridiculous because I know I have a guarantee. Many Thanks.

12 peoplefound this review helpful

Top reviews of the 261 Chrysler minivans (16)

Lee de East Stroudsburg, PA

Original review: July 30, 2015

Started having problems where the car started to rock. When I tried to start the car today, all the lights above, on the door and on the dashboard started flickering. The dashboard said to park the car (which it was). Then he told me the trunk was open, which it wasn't. The car didn't start. It's a city and country from the 2008 Chrysler. Anyone have a good guess?

16 peoplefound this review helpful

Top reviews of the 261 Chrysler minivans (17)

Trinity of Glendale, AZ

Original review: June 30, 2015

I bought a brand new 2015 Chrysler 200 from the Chrysler dealership in December. The car I wanted to buy didn't have tinted windows and I was told they wouldn't sell cars that didn't have tinted windows. When signing the documents I was told that the windows would be tinted after I signed and returned my car. Weeks went by trying to do this and I was finally told that the general manager felt I had had too much on my car and that the window tinting would not be done for me.

After a month of driving, the car started shutting off mid-drive, a message appeared on the dash from **Car to P and literally stopped the vehicle. This happened several times in the middle of the road and also on the Autobahn with my three-year-old daughter. Luckily nothing happened to my daughter and me. I took the car to Chrysler to have this issue fixed and was told the car just needed an update. I got my car back and the same thing happened again two weeks later on the Autobahn. Luckily I was able to pull onto the side shoulder to avoid a fall.

At this point, the car would not even start for hours. I took my car back to Chrysler and was told the only reason the Check Engine Light came on was because I didn't tighten the gas cap all the way which caused the light to come on. Then they sent me away with my car. I'm a single mom and I'm lucky enough to live close to where I work and my daughters school so I don't have to travel far so the car worked fine for a couple of weeks. So I drove 40 miles away and the same thing started happening.

I returned my car two more times before they decided to give me a rental and actually look at the car. At that point I contacted Chrysler Corporate and waited a week until I got a **call from the resolutions team who only gave me very scripted answers and told me they were reviewing my case. I explained to her that I wasn't comfortable in this car, that it would close in the middle of the highway, road, bridge, it didn't matter and that I expected nothing less than an aftermarket car. She then said she could make amends with the car payment for my troubles. There is no money in the world that would compensate me for a car that stopped on a freeway with my son in the car.

The service department found an oil problem and had to replace the long-block engine. It's been five weeks and I was told today that they think they fixed the car and will not be replacing it. For four weeks**, Chrysler's enterprise solutions team said the same words from the script: "We are currently reviewing your case for all possible findings and we have nothing to offer you at this time." Their policy is to contact me every 48 hours while the case is in progress so I got called every 2 days with the exact same autoresponder. After trying to explain my situation to her she said they could compensate me which I had explained several times not wanting to be paid.

21 peoplefound this review helpful

Top reviews of the 261 Chrysler minivans (18)

Ben de Westwood, KSCertified appraiser

Original review: June 18, 2015

Grand Cherokee ignition switch. In November 2014 we received the recall notice and called the dealer to schedule a repair. It is now June 2015 and I am told that the Chrysler dealer has not stated when parts will be available. Chrysler doesn't appear to be concerned about the issue.

3 peoplefound this review helpful

Top reviews of the 261 Chrysler minivans (19)

Lashi aus Colorado Springs, COCertified appraiser

Original review: June 4, 2015

I like the van overall, the storage and departure seats are great. The only thing I don't like is the key ring. It's big and bulky in my pocket. It gets stuck in the ignition. (I can park the van and turn off the card, but the key fob won't go to the off position to be removed.) The copy costs $100. I understand it could be a safety feature, but how safe is it if I have to leave the remote in the van because I don't have time to turn it on/move/park/turn it off too often to get the remote out ?

7 peoplefound this review helpful

Top reviews of the 261 Chrysler minivans (20)

(Video) Best Minivan Comparison: Kia Carnival vs. Toyota Sienna vs. Honda Odyssey vs. Chrysler Pacifica

Elizabeth of Redding, California

Original review: June 2, 2015

I got a 2005 City and Country Chrysler from my grandparents. Ever since they gave me the van here are the problems I've had. The engine almost burned out...

The van got so hot that the engine almost exploded. I took it to a shop and they checked my radiator and it was completely rusted and out of coolant. Two weeks after the radiator was replaced, the van continued to leak coolant and overheat. I had to change the water pump. That costs about $700.

Both sliding doors can no longer be opened. Yes, you heard that right... A van that was supposed to have working sliding doors, both doors no longer work. One door doesn't even open by hand, the other one is a pain too. They don't have the money to pay for it. Brakes wear out quickly. My brakes got so bad they almost let me down. I took my van to the shop and they told me the battery is really bad, it's not safe to drive my van.

The windshield cracked up. Then, about two years ago, before my grandfather died, he fixed the windshield. One day I left the house and found that my windshield was completely cracked. That costs $212. The check engine light stays on. My check engine light comes on every two weeks. I check all my fluids, my gas cap. Anything you can imagine, but it's still happening. Sometimes my airbag light comes on too!

The headlights go off and on again. Every day when driving at night I turn on the lights and within a few seconds they go out. And then come back. No idea why. But they just do it. The tailgate (trunk) does not stay fully open. I have to constantly tighten the jambs on my tailgate to keep it open and not closing. The gas cap. I had to change the gas cap four times! No idea why.

fuel consumption. This van has terrible gas mileage. I park my van and it feels like I'm wasting gas not driving it! That's it... I don't recommend this van. Buy a Kia Sedona that my mom drives and it's an amazing van with lots of power! My parents have owned Chryslers in the past who had similar issues as me. Don't buy Dodge or Chrysler!!

12 peoplefound this review helpful

Top reviews of the 261 Chrysler minivans (21)

Alice of Fairfax, VirginiaCertified appraiser

Original review: May 31, 2015

Had the same issue with our 2000 T and C. My husband said to make sure the drain hose which is just above the serpentine belt isn't cracked or broken causing water to leak onto your belt. We fixed this tube after having the problem of the serpentine belt slipping every time it rained or got a little wet. It worked! Much luck!

2 peoplefound this review helpful

Top reviews of the 261 Chrysler minivans (22)

Kimberly de Little Rock, ARCertified appraiser

Original review: May 31, 2015

My 2004 Town and Country Van's paint is peeling on the right side of the vehicle!!! I am unable to work and cannot afford a new coat of paint. My van is all I own... Please answer why is this happening... And if anyone can help me... :(

4 peoplefound this review helpful

Top reviews of the 261 Chrysler minivans (23)

Donna de Sevierville, TNCertified appraiser

Original review: May 18, 2015

1997 Chrysler Town and Country - This van was owned by my parents before me. My father always had problems with this van. I had to replace the motor in it. The serpentine belt came out every time it got a little wet (every time it rains), the belt and pulley had to be replaced. These things can be normal wear and tear so ok but this damn van stops all the time for no reason!!

I've read review after review of this SAME PROBLEM with these vans ranging from 1997+ to the newer 2000's. Nobody seems to be able to "diagnose" this problem. I've replaced ALL the sensors... and the damn "Check Engine Light" keeps coming on. This van will stop after starting, stop when driving slowly, stop when decelerating, stop at bus stops, stop whenever it wants. WHY IS THERE NO RECALL OR CLASS ACTION ON THIS??? Someone will be killed or seriously injured as a result. I've read enough to know that Chrysler NEEDS TO KNOW, and yet THEY DO NOTHING!!! HAVE NEVER OWNED ANOTHER CHRYSLER OR DODGE!! WORST VEHICLE EVER!!! PIECE OF **!

20 peoplefound this review helpful

Top reviews of the 261 Chrysler minivans (24)

Jillian de Vermilion, OHCertified appraiser

Original review: May 14, 2015

I had my city and country from 2014 for about 3 months. 37,000 miles driven. I also noticed the problem with the brakes. always coming out of the garage on a slope, etc. My brakes go all the way to the ground and there is no way to give way. However, accelerating is not a problem and this releases the accelerator pedal. I worry that one day it might slide back like the previous poster posted. Other than that I love the van and no problems so far other than the brake pedal? I've only had the van for a few months so hopefully nothing goes wrong.

6 peoplesfound this review helpful

Top reviews of the 261 Chrysler minivans (25)

Jew from Staten Island, NY

Original review: April 19, 2015

I got into the car that was parked on top of a hill. The front of the vehicle faced upwards. I started the engine and hit the brakes. (At this point I didn't realize the brake was sluggish.) I switched to steering and it slowly glided up the hill. My foot was on the brake the whole time. I pushed harder with no brake response other than a grinding noise. The car did not slow down, but rather gained momentum as it went down the hill and crashed into a parked car. Due to the fact that it was a slow motion accident, I had time where I double checked that there was nothing under the brake and that I was actually hitting the brake and not the accelerator.

My husband was able to duplicate the problem: whenever the car is cold and facing up on a steep hill with the front of the car facing up, the brakes get stiff as if the engine was off and you step on the brakes and it's harsh. I've notified Chrysler that they are investigating. So far I haven't heard from them.

16 peoplefound this review helpful

Top reviews of the 261 Chrysler minivans (26)

Ron from Irvine, CaliforniaCertified appraiser

(Video) Minivan Comparison | Dodge Grand Caravan vs Chrysler Pacifica | Driving.ca

Original review: April 18, 2015

Fiat (Chrysler) 500E - I've had the vehicle for almost a year now and it's been a love-hate relationship, literally. I love the car myself - it's fun, fast, quirky and really makes a lot of sense for someone who travels a lot and hates traffic. There's the love part. Now comes the hate. This car has started to fail at an alarming rate. It started as a loading error. This bug was annoying, but it didn't bother me much at first. It would simply be a bug that would allow you to unplug and plug the charger back in, sometimes dozens of times, but it would charge. Then the problem got worse. I went to work in the morning and found that when I started my car the night before, it charged for ten minutes and then shut off. That might not sound terrible, but it means I could get it to work, but I couldn't go back because range was limited and I wasn't a hybrid.

This problem is becoming more and more common. It got to the point where it happened 2-3 times a week. So I took the car to the dealer where I was told there was nothing wrong. I had to record the times when my car couldn't prove it. The second time the same - nothing wrong with that. I started towing it when it wasn't loading. The third time it was towed I demanded it be taken to another dealer who would genuinely try to diagnose the car and not remove the paint from my bumpers. The nearest dealer kept it for a month and left it in store in my possession in about 45 days.

All the time I have to drive a truck to work, spend $100 a week on gas, and double and triple my commute time because I couldn't use the carpool lane anymore. Having said all of this and brought it to their attention, it was not expedient to offer a solution to the problem or anything substantial. The same mantra was used the whole time, "let's diagnose further". When I got nowhere, I asked to be on the "Resolution Team." That was over a month ago. When they dodged my calls and got back to me a week and a half after your call, it got old. At this point, I have a car whose problems are getting worse and a company that doesn't want to fix it or stand behind its products.

The last thing it did was fail and shut down completely in the middle of a busy intersection where I nearly died on Easter Sunday. I resorted to calling 1-12 times a day all 3 staff who called and left weird, unhelpful and still unresolved messages. I've owned or used many Nissan, Infinity, Acura, Ford, Chevy, GMC, Mercedes, Mini, Toyota, Lexus, Porsche, and BMW vehicles, and I've never had a vehicle that caused me more trouble or bogged down brought than this Fiat. All in all, with the least reliable products I've ever bought and the worst customer service I've ever dealt with, I would be more inclined to walk or ride a horse than any branded vehicle to buy Chrysler. If you want something useful and working, buy a Prius or a Volt!

Top reviews of the 261 Chrysler minivans (27)

Top reviews of the 261 Chrysler minivans (28)

5 peoplefound this review helpful

Top reviews of the 261 Chrysler minivans (29)

Eddie aus Butter, CACertified appraiser

Original review: April 3, 2015

We bought our used 2010 minivan for our family of 6 in June last year. But a few months ago we noticed that the key wouldn't start the car. We tried several times and nothing. We thought it was the battery so we went to the dealer and they replaced it... It worked fine for about a month and now on April 2nd 2015 it won't start. You have to try about 5 minutes to get started. We also noticed today that our sliding doors open by themselves.

I went to dinner with my family, I came out and the sliding door was open. I've done this twice. We were afraid to leave it overnight as we wouldn't know if it would open again and that's not the only problem, our radio went crazy changing stations on its own. We called the dealership and said there was no recall for our car but it would cost $800 to fix most of the problem and with a family of 6 we don't have the money to replace it . We love our car, but we, the customers, shouldn't be responsible for paying for a car that has so many problems.

20 peoplefound this review helpful

Top reviews of the 261 Chrysler minivans (30)

Chris from Mercer, PA

Original review: March 9, 2015

Okay, so everyone reading this understands, if you have a problem with your city and your country, go to the NHTSA and complain... you're the ones making Chrysler pay for the ridiculous problem that we normal Americans are having with our scrap Chrysler have products. I bought my wife a used 2010 Town and Country in October 2014. He had 28,000 kilometers. It is like a new car, one owner, no accidents, in good condition.

Now that we're almost 22 miles, I found out there was an ignition recall. Well my wife told me she was having trouble getting her key out so I'm doing it. But when I get in the car I see you can't get the key out or do anything at all, turn it on or nothing. So go to the dealer and wait 2 hours with chrysler customer service and i was told the win mod was bad...$852 to replace it do it. And now it doesn't change from the parking key...it's still stuck in the ignition and you have to drive if you can, with the key in the ACC position. So now I have the drug dealer who raped me to do this, telling me it's my problem and I have to live with it.

As a side note, the service clerk told me when I picked him up, "Oh yeah, the tech who worked on your van said the shift springs were weak." To my reply: "Before I brought it here, there was nothing wrong with it. Why is it now?" to just a goofy look on her face. So be warned. Complain to NHTSA and don't buy a Chrysler product. Chrysler just wants you to buy it. After that it's your problem.

32 peoplefound this review helpful

Top reviews of the 261 Chrysler minivans (31)

Christie from Ferndale, MICertified appraiser

Original review: February 8, 2015

I have a 2004 PT Cruiser. It recently started shutting down while driving. It happened on the Autobahn and on a federal highway as well as in the car wash while idling. Very dangerous. I have 7 children, 3 still at home. I work and I'm a student. My mother has dementia and I need to help take care of her if I can. I need reliable transportation.

I took my car to the dealer to have the camshaft sensor and crankshaft sensor replaced. 500.++ for this repair after about 1,000 last year. After this repair, it kept cutting out while driving. Now they want 1,100.00 to replace the timing belt and water pump. They claim that the sensors are not bad in the assessment. I had another store that I scanned and it had the same sensor issue. I can't put any more money into this car. Yes... Does anyone know of a recall for this model year for this issue? Also, the cost of repairing this car far outweighs its value. I love my cute little car, but she's a money pit and the turning radius doesn't even get me started.

5 peoplefound this review helpful

Top reviews of the 261 Chrysler minivans (32)

Jo-Anne von Bogen, NHCertified appraiser

Original review: January 14, 2015

2010 T&C Mini Van...cars shut down when driving 20-30 mph. That's never happened on the freeway. The sliding light on the dashboard comes on. What exactly happens when the recall is declared for L25. I'm the second owner so I was reading about the L25 recall when this started, took it to the dealer and was anxious to get it fixed only to find out it was already fixed. Now I'm confused and even more upset. Looks like another call back is needed after reading all the complaints.

The guy at the dealer said it could be the win module, an $800 part....oh, to find out if that was it, he wanted to charge me $110 for the diagnosis. wtf again... for a vehicle that is only 5 years old it seems like they should pay for it. Fyi everyone this happens to, complain and complain and complain! If this happens, as a little advice, just put the car in neutral and reset the key and the car will restart. Save yourself trying to stop in the event of a potential accident that Chrysler won't admit to.

15 peoplefound this review helpful

Top reviews of the 261 Chrysler minivans (33)

Margaret of Baldwin, New YorkCertified appraiser

Original review: December 20, 2014

I fought with Chrysler and ended up getting EXTREMELY small compensation, but everyone should be warned not to buy a Chrysler Town & Country. My 2010 had several issues and was only reliable for about 18 months. Sad quality!

16 peoplefound this review helpful

FAQs

What is the number 1 minivan? ›

The 2022 Chrysler Pacifica is the top choice in minivans, with streamlined styling, poised handling and features you can't get elsewhere.

Is a Chrysler minivan a good car? ›

The 2022 Chrysler Pacifica ranks near the top of the minivan class. The Pacifica has a wealth of standard features, roomy seating and cargo space, composed driving dynamics, and a fuel-efficient V6 powertrain, but it also has a low predicted reliability score.

Is Town and Country a good van? ›

Chrysler Town & Country Reliability Rating Breakdown. The Chrysler Town & Country Reliability Rating is 3.5 out of 5.0, which ranks it 4th out of 8 for minivans.

Which minivan has less problems? ›

Most Reliable Minivans for 2022: Reviews, Photos, and More
  • Ford Flex.
  • Honda Odyssey.
  • Dodge Grand Caravan.
  • Toyota Sienna.
  • Kia Sedona.
  • Chrysler Pacifica.
1 Dec 2021

What is the most reliable minivan today? ›

  • 3) 2022 Chrysler Pacifica. ...
  • 3) 2022 Chrysler Pacifica. ...
  • 2) 2022 Toyota Sienna. ...
  • 2) 2022 Toyota Sienna. ...
  • 1) 2022 Honda Odyssey. ...
  • 1) 2022 Honda Odyssey. $33,040 | USN Score: 8.9/10. ...
  • More Shopping Tool From U.S. News & World Report. Are you planning to buy or lease a minivan soon? ...
  • The Most Reliable Minivans of 2022. 2022 Honda Odyssey.
8 Jul 2022

Which minivan has the best reliability rating? ›

The Top Reliable Minivans
  1. Chrysler Pacifica. The Chrysler Pacifica is easily one of the most reliable minivans you can buy. ...
  2. Honda Odyssey. ...
  3. Toyota Sienna. ...
  4. Dodge Grand Caravan. ...
  5. Kia Sedona. ...
  6. Chrysler Town and Country. ...
  7. Nissan Quest. ...
  8. Ford Flex.
1 Apr 2022

What is the safest and most reliable minivan? ›

Minivans
  • Top Safety Pick+ 2022 Chrysler Pacifica Minivan.
  • 2022-23 Honda Odyssey Minivan.
  • 2022 Kia Carnival Minivan. with specific headlights. applies only to vehicles built after March 2021.
  • 2022 Toyota Sienna Minivan.

Which is better Sienna or Pacifica? ›

2021 Toyota Sienna. Which is the best minivan on the market for 2021? Although both are very reliable minivans, the 2021 Chrysler Pacifica has a higher overall rating than the Toyota Sienna. The Pacifica has a higher price tag, but offers more entertainment features, a luxurious interior and advanced safety technology.

What is the best selling Chrysler? ›

Most Popular Chrysler Cars
  • Chrysler Town and Country. You can still buy a Chrysler Town and Country today but the one you'd be getting is part of the company's line of minivans. ...
  • Dodge Coronet. ...
  • Dodge Charger. ...
  • Chrysler 300. ...
  • Chrysler Sebring. ...
  • Chrysler Aspen. ...
  • Dodge Neon. ...
  • Eagle Premier.

What Chrysler has the best gas mileage? ›

The top three Chrysler models with the best gas mileage for 2022 include the Pacifica Hybrid, the 300, and the Pacifica.
  • 2022 Chrysler Pacifica Hybrid: Up to 82 MPGe in highway miles.
  • 2022 Chrysler 300: Up to 30 mpg in highway miles.
  • 2022 Chrysler Pacifica: Up to 28 mpg in highway miles.
25 Nov 2022

What is the most reliable van to buy? ›

The Most Reliable Vans In 2021
  • The Madness In The Method. ...
  • Small Van: Volkswagen Caddy. ...
  • Small Van: Fiat Doblo. ...
  • Medium Van: Ford Transit Custom. ...
  • Medium Van: Vauxhall Vivaro. ...
  • Large Van: Mercedes-Benz Sprinter. ...
  • Large Van: Volkswagen Crafter. ...
  • Pickup Truck: Toyota Hilux.

What is the most reliable second hand van to buy? ›

Top 10 most reliable used vans
  • Ford Transit. Unsurprisingly, the iconic Ford Transit represents one of the best used vans to buy. ...
  • Ford Transit Connect. ...
  • Mercedes-Benz Sprinter. ...
  • Volkswagen Transporter. ...
  • Volkswagen Caddy. ...
  • Mercedes-Benz Vito. ...
  • Vauxhall Vivaro. ...
  • Citroen Berlingo.

Which is better Pacifica vs Town and Country? ›

Looking at the Pacifica vs. Town & Country interior, you'll find that both offer 3-rows of seating for up to 7, but the Pacifica interior is roomier with a passenger volume of 165 cubic feet, compared to the 162.8 cubic feet in the Town & Country. The Pacifica can also be configured to allow seating for up to 8.

What is the most reliable Chrysler? ›

Chrysler's top model for reliability is the Pacifica Hybrid. The Chrysler model that ranks the highest in its vehicle category is the Chrysler Pacifica Hybrid, which ranks 3 out of 8 Most Reliable Plug-in Hybrid Cars. You can see the rest of the Chrysler models and their rankings below.

What is the best selling minivan of all time? ›

Best Selling Minivans
  • # 8. Toyota Sienna. Compare and Find a Good Deal in Our Inventory. ...
  • # 7. Honda Odyssey. Compare and Find a Good Deal in Our Inventory. ...
  • # 6. Chrysler Town & Country. ...
  • # 5. Dodge Grand Caravan. ...
  • # 4. Kia Sedona. ...
  • # 3. Mazda Mazda5. ...
  • # 2. Nissan Quest. ...
  • # 1. Ford Transit Connect Wagon.

Which minivan has the strongest engine? ›

The Carnival's standard 290 horsepower V6 is the most powerful engine offered in a 2022 minivan.

What car is number 1 most reliable? ›

Toyota earns the top spot as the best automaker for dependability. Toyota vehicles are known for their longevity, and they are proven to last longer than any other brand.
...
The Most Reliable Car Brands.
Longest-Lasting Car Brands to Reach 200,000 Miles- iSeeCars Study
RankModel% of Cars Over 200k Miles
1Toyota2.3%
2Honda1.9%
3GMC1.8%
8 more rows
20 Mar 2022

What is the top 5 most reliable cars? ›

What are the most reliable car models?
  • 2023 Toyota Corolla Hybrid.
  • 2023 Lexus GX.
  • 2023 Mini Cooper.
  • 2022 Toyota Prius.
  • 2022 Mazda MX-5 Miata.
  • 2023 Lincoln Corsair.
  • 2023 Toyota Corolla.
  • 2023 Subaru Crosstrek.
15 Nov 2022

What is the most unreliable vehicle brand? ›

Off-road maker Jeep has been named the most unreliable car manufacturer following a survey of nearly 25,000 owners.

What is the most reliable car according to Consumer Reports? ›

Toyota TM, +0.75% and Lexus build the most reliable cars, according to Consumer Reports.
...
Major shifts from last year's results.
RankingBrandScore (0-100 point scale)
1.Toyota72
2.Lexus72
3.BMW65
4.Mazda MZDAY, +1.33%65
20 more rows
21 Nov 2022

What are the 3 most reliable car brands? ›

Toyota, Lexus, BMW, Mazda, and Honda made the top five of the brands with the most reliable cars, with BMW jumping up from 10th to third position in just one year, pushing German rival Audi to sixth.
...
Most reliable and least reliable cars named in the US.
RankBrandAverage
1Toyota72
2Lexus72
3BMW65
4Mazda65
20 more rows
22 Nov 2022

Which brand of car has the least problems? ›

The most reliable car brands - and the least
  • Kia. Reliability rating: 95.8% ...
  • Mazda. Reliability rating: 95.9% ...
  • Mitsubishi. Reliability rating: 96.9% ...
  • Dacia. Reliability rating: 97.3% ...
  • Lexus. Reliability rating: 98.7% ...
  • Alfa Romeo. Reliability rating: 86.5% ...
  • Land Rover. Reliability rating: 82.5% ...
  • Fiat. Reliability rating: 82.0%
6 Aug 2022

Which is better Sienna or Sedona? ›

The 2021 Sienna LE has more standard active safety features than the Sedona LX which requires an upgrade to the SX model to get comparable features. You also get more airbags with second-row outboard seat-mounted side airbags and the additional driver knee airbag * in the Sienna.

What car is comparable to Chrysler Pacifica? ›

Both the Chrysler Pacifica and Toyota Sienna offer the option of all-wheel drive (AWD) for buyers in the far north. Toyota even offers a Sienna Woodland trim level with a bit of extra ground clearance. On the convenience side, both minivans offer hands-free capability for their power-sliding rear doors.

How many miles will a Chrysler Pacifica last? ›

If you take care of your Pacifica properly, it can last a long time. It can travel over 200,000 miles with little problem if you follow its proper maintenance and service schedule. The Chrysler Pacifica is a dependable minivan with excellent features, ample engine power, and responsive handling.

Where does Chrysler rank in reliability? ›

How Expensive Is It to Maintain a Chrysler? Founded in 1925 by Walter P. Chrysler, today, Chrysler is known as a “family brand of sedans and minivans.” Part of this popularity with families is due to Chrysler's 3.5-star overall reliability rating, ranking 11th out of 34 possible vehicle brands.

What Chrysler has a Mercedes engine? ›

The 2015 Chrysler 300C comes with a 3.6-liter V6 engine that makes 292 horsepower, but you can also upgrade to a 5.7L V8 engine that can produce 363 horsepower. The Chrysler is a modified version of a Mercedes engine, but the car's handling is different than a Mercedes-Benz.

What is the top of the line Chrysler van? ›

THE CHRYSLER PACIFICA PINNACLE OFFERS THE MOST LUXURIOUS INTERIOR IN ITS CLASS( Disclosure15) Immerse yourself in luxury and experience maximum comfort with soft-to-the-touch available caramel Nappa leather-trimmed seats with second-row pillows in the Pinnacle.

Why did Chrysler stop making the minivan? ›

But why did FCA decide to cut out the Journey and Grand Caravan models? It is likely these two vehicles are ending their run in order to reduce the brand's model lineup size, following in the footsteps of the FCA brands Ram, Chrysler, Fiat, and Alfa Romeo, which all offer four or fewer models.

Do Chryslers hold their value? ›

In contrast, brands like Volvo, Chrysler , Land Rover, and Acura tend to have a really low resale value making them money pits for car owners who frequently buy and sell their cars. Some of these vehicles will depreciate in value up to 61% in the first five years.

Which is better on gas minivan or SUV? ›

Fuel Economy

An SUV is not likely to get better than 18 to 23 mpg, whereas a minivan will likely get from 24 to 30 mpg. It may not seem like a huge difference, but that cost can add up, especially if you're taking a lot of road trips or have a long commute.

What is considered high mileage for a minivan? ›

What is considered high mileage on a car? Often, 100,000 miles is considered a cut-off point for used cars because older vehicles often start requiring more expensive and frequent maintenance when mileage exceeds 100,000.

What car gets 70 mpg? ›

The Trident Iceni Grand Tourer is purported to offer top-of-the-line performance and amazing fuel efficiency.

What vans get broken into the most? ›

Top 20 most stolen vehicles by make and model in 2020
Vehicle makeVehicle model
1Mercedes-BenzSprinter 313 CDI
2Mercedez-BenzSprinter 314 CDI
3FordTransit 350
3YamahaGPD125-A NMax 125 ABS
16 more rows
18 Mar 2021

What is the best van brand? ›

Like the rest of Storyteller Overland's vans, the Beast Mode is based on the passenger configuration of the Mercedes-Benz Sprinter.

What time of year is best to buy a van? ›

Dealers tend to offer closeout deals over Memorial Day weekend. Independence Day: Dealers start getting more variety in their incoming vehicles over the summer. You have a better chance of getting a deal on the van you want at this time. Labor Day: This weekend sees competitive prices and various vehicles.

Which minivan is the best value? ›

TrueCar ranks the following vehicles as the best minivans for the money to buy:
  • Kia Carnival.
  • Toyota Sienna.
  • Honda Odyssey.
  • Chrysler Pacifica.

Which is the roomiest minivan? ›

Every minivan offers a spacious, super-practical cabin — that's why you buy one. But the Kia Carnival has the most space. The 40 cubic feet of trunk space behind the third row is massive. You can also fold the third row flat and remove the second row for a massive potential 145.1 cubic feet.

Which is better the Chrysler Pacifica or Kia Sedona? ›

Although both are very reliable minivans, the 2021 Chrysler Pacifica has a higher overall rating than the Kia Sedona.

Do Chrysler pacificas hold their value? ›

A Chrysler Pacifica will depreciate 37% after 5 years and have a 5 year resale value of $29,910. The chart below shows the expected depreciation for the next 10 years. These results are for vehicles in good condition, averaging 12,000 miles per year. It also assumes a selling price of $47,534 when new.

What minivan holds its value best? ›

In fact, the 2021 Toyota Sienna — all-new for 2021 and available only as a gas/electric hybrid — also has claimed the title of top Minivan in our 2021 KBB Best Resale Value Awards.

What are the best second hand vans to buy? ›

Top 10 most reliable used vans
  • Ford Transit. Unsurprisingly, the iconic Ford Transit represents one of the best used vans to buy. ...
  • Ford Transit Connect. ...
  • Mercedes-Benz Sprinter. ...
  • Volkswagen Transporter. ...
  • Volkswagen Caddy. ...
  • Mercedes-Benz Vito. ...
  • Vauxhall Vivaro. ...
  • Citroen Berlingo.

What is the number one safest minivan? ›

Minivans
  • Top Safety Pick+ 2022 Chrysler Pacifica Minivan.
  • 2022-23 Honda Odyssey Minivan.
  • 2022 Kia Carnival Minivan. with specific headlights. applies only to vehicles built after March 2021.
  • 2022 Toyota Sienna Minivan.

Which minivan is best in the snow? ›

One might think that such family-oriented rides would all offer the added security of all-wheel drive for added traction over wet or snowy roads, but in reality, only two minivans offer it: the Chrysler Pacifica and Toyota Sienna.

Are minivans better on gas than SUV? ›

An SUV is not likely to get better than 18 to 23 mpg, whereas a minivan will likely get from 24 to 30 mpg. It may not seem like a huge difference, but that cost can add up, especially if you're taking a lot of road trips or have a long commute.

What minivan does Kim Kardashian drive? ›

The reality star got to see her new car for the first time on the finale of the show Million Dollar Wheels.

Videos

1. 1990 Chrysler Town & Country | Retro Review
(MotorWeek)
2. 2017 Chrysler Pacifica - Review and Road Test
(Kelley Blue Book)
3. 2021 Chrysler Pacifica vs. Toyota Highlander: Is A Minivan Actually COOLER Than A Crossover!
(The Fast Lane Car)
4. Why the Dodge Grand Caravan RT is the best minivan
(4x4 Rides)
5. 2018 Chrysler Pacifica Hybrid Review - The Best Minivan you Can Buy?
(Max Landi Reviews)
6. Top 9 New Vans for Doing Business and Other Commercial Purposes
(Automotive Territory: Daily News)

References

Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Melvina Ondricka

Last Updated: 07/18/2023

Views: 5917

Rating: 4.8 / 5 (48 voted)

Reviews: 87% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Melvina Ondricka

Birthday: 2000-12-23

Address: Suite 382 139 Shaniqua Locks, Paulaborough, UT 90498

Phone: +636383657021

Job: Dynamic Government Specialist

Hobby: Kite flying, Watching movies, Knitting, Model building, Reading, Wood carving, Paintball

Introduction: My name is Melvina Ondricka, I am a helpful, fancy, friendly, innocent, outstanding, courageous, thoughtful person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.